Have A Question?

Good question. We are not all knowing, although, when it comes to nutritious and delicious cereal, we do know a lot. Hope we can help answer all of your questions.

Malt-O-Meal Cold Cereals

Are your cereal packages recyclable?

We currently use the lowest density poly material proven (the bags are made out of reverse printed OPP lamination) to keep our cereals safe and fresh. Unfortunately, this poly material is not recyclable and therefore, does not have a recycling symbol. We continue to review any new packaging materials that become available to us. When it comes to the packaging of our products, our first priority is to provide consumers with safe and fresh products. The polyethylene bags we use provide our customers with wholesome, quality products without the high cost of packaging materials.

We have partnered with TerraCycle® so that consumers are able to reuse our cereal bags. In a nutshell, here’s how it works. Sign up for the Cereal Bag Brigade and every time you enjoy a bag of cereal, save the cereal bag and send it in. TerraCycle will convert the bags into fun and innovative products including tote bags, park benches and much more. For each cereal bag shipment sent to TerraCycle, you will be awarded TerraCycle points, which can be redeemed for a payment of $0.02 per bag for your school. Participation is completely free!

What is your allergen labeling policy?

We understand and share the concerns expressed by consumers who are affected by food allergies. Food Allergic consumers should rely on our package ingredient labels for the most accurate information on a product. If a product contains any of the FDA major eight allergens (egg, milk, peanut, tree nut, fish, shellfish, soy, and wheat) it will be clearly listed in bold print in the ingredient declaration on the Nutrition Facts Panel.

If we do make a product that contains any of these eight major allergens, all products made on the same production line would contain the same allergen or a full allergen tested and validated cleaning process would be performed between production runs.

Do your products contain any genetically modified ingredients?

Our conventional cereals could contain genetically engineered derivatives/GMO. We assure you that we comply with all FDA requirements for labeling and claims. We are also continually searching and reviewing ingredients that allow us to give families a better breakfast option while keeping our product prices affordable.

Are your cereal products Kosher certified?

Most of our cereal products are Kosher certified. If the product you are interested in is Kosher certified, its packaging will reflect its certification status and category. Kosher certifications may change over time, so the best way to determine a product’s Kosher status is to look at the front of the package. Our product packages will always reflect the most current information.

Is it safe to eat your cereal when it has passed its 'Best if Used By' date?

Yes, it is safe, but since the flavor will change as the product ages, we recommend that you purchase a new package.

What is the best way to store your cereal products?

We recommend that you keep our cereals in a cool, dry place.

Why are your products lower in price than leading box brands?

Ounce for ounce, Malt-O-Meal® ready-to-eat cereals cost less than the leading box brands. We are able to provide this everyday savings by limiting packaging and advertising costs and focusing on quality.

After Malt-O-Meal® ready-to-eat cereals are opened, how does one reclose the bag to keep the cereal fresh?

Now, many of our great ready-to-eat cereals have a convenient TopZip™ closure. This easy-to-use closure makes opening and reclosing simple and keeps your cereal fresh. Some consumers prefer to transfer our cereals into storage containers.

What is the source of the gelatin in your products?

The gelatin we use in our products is derived from pork. Gelatin is found in the marshmallows in our Marshmallow Mateys™ cereal and the icing in our Mini Spooners® cereal.

Do you have any gluten free products?

Currently, our Malt-O-Meal Fruity Dyno-Bites® and Malt-O-Meal Cocoa Dyno Bites® cereals are labeled gluten free.

Consumers should read the ingredient statement each time they purchase a product to ensure no changes have occurred. Please look for the ‘gluten free’ burst on packages at your favorite stores.

Has my favorite Malt-O-Meal cereal been discontinued?

Due to lack of consumer demand, the products shown below have been discontinued over the past few years and are no longer available:

  • Malt-O-Meal Balance cereal
  • Malt-O-Meal Balance with Berries cereal
  • Malt-O-Meal Big Bowl Instant Oatmeal
  • Malt-O-Meal Chocolate Frosted Flakes
  • Malt-O-Meal Chocolate Mini Spooners
  • Malt-O-Meal Cinnamon Golden Puffs
  • Malt-O-Meal Maple & Brown Sugar Mini Spooners
  • Malt-O-Meal Perfect Balance Hot Wheat cereal
  • Malt-O-Meal Puffed Rice
  • Malt-O-Meal Puffed Wheat
  • Malt-O-Meal Toasty O’s cereal
  • Malt-O-Meal Vanilla Cream Mini Spooners
  • Malt-O-Meal Strawberry Toasters
  • Malt-O-Meal Cinnamon Colossal Crunch

Malt-O-Meal Hot Cereals

What are the black flecks in Malt-O-Meal hot wheat cereals?

The black flecks are malted barley, which adds a sweet, toasted grain flavor to our cereal.

What is farina?

Derived from the wheat kernel, farina is produced through a milling process which removes the wheat bran and germ layer. The very middle portion of the wheat kernel – called farina – remains.

Where can I purchase Malt-O-Meal hot wheat cereals?

Malt-O-Meal hot wheat cereals can be found in grocery, convenience, drug and club stores. If you do not see our products on your grocer’s shelves, please ask the store manager so they can order and stock it for you and other consumers. Malt-O-Meal hot wheat cereals can also be purchased directly from My Brands, Inc..

How do I prepare Malt-O-Meal Hot Cereals?

Cooking directions for Malt-O-Meal Hot Cereals can be found on their product page: OriginalChocolate, Maple Brown Sugar, Creamy Hot Wheat